Heidsieck & Co Monopole
Heidsieck was established in 1785 by Florenz-Ludwig Heidsieck, and his three nephews turned it into three different Champagne Houses, Heidsieck & Co (established 1834), Piper-Heidsieck (established 1834), and Charles Heidsieck (established 1851). In 1860 they create "Monopole" as a registered trademark of the company Heidsieck & Co. In 1923 it was integrated into the name, becoming: "Champagne Heidsieck & Co Monopole, founded in 1785".
In 1895, the firm already shipped over 1.5 million bottles worldwide. In 1888, Heidsieck was appointed suppliers of Champagne to the king of Prussia, emperor of Germany; in 1911, it was appointed suppliers of Champagne to the English court. Heidsieck Champagne was featured at the Swedish court and at the table of Csar Nicolas II (the latter ordered over 400,000 bottles a year for his personal use).
Legend has it that the Blue Top non-vintage bubbly, Heidsieck & Co. Monopole was the official champagne aboard the ill-fated Titanic.
Most famously is their vintage 1907; In 1916, a shipment of 3,000 bottles of Heidsieck & Co. Monopole Champagne on board the Jonkoping was destined for the headquarters of the Imperial Army in St. Petersburg.
Jonkoping was sunk by a Germany submarine which the wreck was located in July, 1998. 2,400 bottles of Heidsieck & Co. Monopole Champagne were perfectly preserved after 82 years under Baltic Sea water and become the most expensive auctioned wine in the world, one bottle cost USD 260,000. Also making it the world's commonest old Champagne Heidsieck's Champagnes are very Pinot Noir-centric, with the varietal making up close to 70% in each bottle. The rest is a blend of Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay.
Today the firm is under the ownership of the Vranken Pommery group, and a great deal of investment has been made to return the house to its former glories